Resolution: Get Organized

What better time to commit to getting control of the chaos than the new year?  It helps that I had a three day weekend and a pretty decent plan.  My first mission was to organize my paper.  I love paper.  Wholly, completely and irrationally.  Organizing it however, can be a pain.  It takes up a lot of space and it’s so easy to forget what color or company something came from.

At one point a few years ago, I was lucky enough to be in the right place at the right time and acquired this:

130_0605

It’s a double layers file folder cart for 8 1/2 x 11 hanging folders.  Until today, it was mostly empty and a dump for odds and ends.  Now, however, it looks like this:

130_0601 (2).JPG

I made the tag inserts using my Silhouette Cameo.  I drew a 2″ by .5″ rectangle and then used the replicate function to fill a 12 x 12 page.  Into each rectangle I typed the company name and color and then printed with a black Sketch Pen. Before unloading the paper, I used the cut outline feature to cut out the rectangles.  It took a bit but wasn’t difficult and the finished result is so worth it.

I predominantly have Gina K, Papertrey Ink and Reverse Confetti paper.  They seem to be my go to companies.  I sorted by company and color family – filing alphabetically from there. There are two or three colors per folder since I tend to buy variety packs and only have a few sheets per color.  There are also baskets holding ribbon, glue and punches attached to the cart.  The bottom shelf holds my large paper cutter.  130_0604

130_0603-2

I’m so glad that I grabbed this when I had the chance and toted it with me as I moved.  It took a few years but now it’s living up to the potential I knew it had.  It was just up to me to make it happen 🙂

There’s more organizational magic coming.  I’ve done a thorough clear out and am determined to make sense of my crazy world, especially since this room does triple duty as my craft room, office and the spare bedroom when folks come to visit.  Not only am I a person who thrives on being organized but it’s so much easier to use what you have when you can find it.

Cheers!

M

This entry was posted in Organization and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Resolution: Get Organized

  1. I really like fact that it’s on wheels so you can pull it close to you when your working and put it away when your done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

