The Firebird

Occasionally, I’m lucky enough to be able to bring my crafty world into my work world.  When this happens, it usually involves one of the Symphony’s Education programs.  I’ve gotten to create a huge paper ice cream sundae and various pieces for the preconcert activities for our Family performances.  This latest project is one of my favorites.

The Symphony had it’s 2nd Family Concert today and featured was the music from Stravinsky’s The Firebird. Along with the concert itself, we have activities for the kids prior to the performance.  The activities  include things like creating masks or puppets, an instrument petting zoo etc.  This week, we included shadow puppets and I got to make them.  This was a Silhouette project all the way (seems appropriate doesn’t it?).  I used my die cutter, Silhouette chipboard and Silhouette sticky cardstock.  Prince Ivan and Tsarevna are files from Miss Kate Cuttables, the wizard Kashchei is a file from Snapdragon Snippets and the Firebird is a Silhouette file.  All four come with layers of detailed add ons but, being shadow puppets, I kept them as simple outlines.

img_0035

I always have so much fun when I get to work with the Education Department and even more so when they are happy with what I come up with.  Story boards were used to tell the tale and the kids acted out the story using the puppets.

img_0036  img_0039

img_0029-2

Prince Ivan and Tsarevna

img_0028-2

Prince Ivan, Kashchei and the Firebird

It was a fun afternoon and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves.  It’s a crazy, hectic hour leading up to the performance with lots and lots of kids creating and participating in the activities, but it’s such a wonderful thing to see the kids engaged and learning.

If you’re interested in the music, click here and take a listen.

Cheers!

M

This entry was posted in Silhouette, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

